The Keys of Marinus

Moving on, the next serial starts with the ‘Sea of Death’, and this is much better. Once again, the Tardis is held captive until the Doctor and co can go on some quest to find some sci-fi magic keys.

A model of the Tardis is used when it first materialises on the island.

A model of the Tardis is used when it first materialises on the island.

Each story is set somewhere new, but still a part of the overall ‘quest’. I enjoyed part 2, with the illusions and the brains in jars (Star Trek borrowed this, didn’t it?). Then a couple of episodes don’t have the Doctor in it at all, which is weird, but then he comes back for a pretty neat murder mystery double.

"Doctor, help me find my keys, I've lost them!"

“Doctor, help me find my keys, I’ve lost them!”

You could probably call Chesterton the main character at this point. I find him quite likable and the best acted of the group. I have to say, I’m not won over by Hartnell; I don’t find his acting all that believable. And then there’s Susan, who just spends her time screaming at things and talkingreallyfast. I guess this is partly the style of drama of the era, but some of it is better than others. The guest actors have been pretty good I suppose, even if some of their costumes are ridiculous!

Psychic alien slug thing in a jar.

Psychic alien slug thing in a jar.

I find it strange that neither Ian or Barbara spend much time talking about going home any more. There’s been a mention of fixing the time circuits or something but it’s generally brushed away as they go on another adventure. Won’t people back home be wondering where they disappeared to? Friends, family? Their school? No mention at all. No-one’s even asked what the Doctor’s name is yet, or where he’s from, or anything! They just go along with it!

Leave a Reply

